FYI, confusing "Warning" dialog while trying to quit Goalscape
This is more of an FYI, I don't really need help with it. So, using Goalscape 2.9.7 on Mac OS X 10.14, while trying to shutdown my Mac, I got this very confusing Warning dialog (see attached screenshot). None of the buttons have obvious meanings in this scenario, and clicking the middle Cancel button just caused Goalscape to quit and my Mac to finish shutting down. I don't know if I lost changes or not.
Discussions are closed to public comments.
If you need help with Goalscape please start a new discussion.
|?||Show this help|
|ESC||Blurs the current field|
|r||Focus the comment reply box|
|^ + ↩||Submit the comment|
You can use
Command ⌘ instead of
Control ^ on Mac
Support Staff 1 Posted by Richard Parslow on 31 Aug, 2019 01:11 PM
Thanks very much for taking the time to report this 'Error Message error'.
The middle button (incorrectly labelled 'Cancel') should read 'Save', so that is the one you should use to be safe. Note though that we cannot reproduce this in any of our tests and we have not heard from anyone else experiencing this issue. It may be that you are using an older version of Goalscape Desktop – please confirm the versions of Desktop and AIR that you have installed (you can see both if you mouseover the 'Goalscape' logo at top left).
In the meantime, note that this error message only appears when you have unsaved changes. You can see this from the 'dot' in its project tab (this changes to 'X' when all your changes have been saved). So if you see this message you can use the right-hand Cancel button (which will cancel your Quit), then Save the project (using File > Save or the Save button at the top of the screen) before Quitting again.
All the best
2 Posted by bumper314 on 31 Aug, 2019 05:38 PM
AIR is up to date (184.108.40.206). I haven't seen this error before or since, just thought it was worth sharing.
Support Staff 3 Posted by Richard Parslow on 31 Aug, 2019 10:08 PM
Thanks. Yes: the options in that 'dirty project warning' popup should be (l-r) 'Yes', 'No' and 'Cancel'. If you now have the latest version of Goalscape Desktop (2.9.7) installed those are the options you should see when you try to Quit Goalscape Desktop when you have unsaved changes in a project.
If you see a repetition of the incorrect button labels issue please let us know. Remember too that the right-hand button is the real 'Cancel' button, so if you are unsure about the others you can use that to cancel the Quit process, Save any 'dirty' projects, then Quit.
All the best
Richard Parslow closed this discussion on 03 Sep, 2019 02:49 PM.